Monday, July 21, 2008

We are all made up of energy. In fact, according to my limited understanding of current thoughts in physics, we are more space than solid. Our energies move through our physical bodies in a variety of ways.

One of the oldest understandings of energies coalescing in the body (and beyond) comes from India: the chakra system. It is foundational to energy studies.

Each of us has, according to this system, seven major chakras in our physical bodies. Going from top to bottom, they are:

The root chakra, at the base of the spine,

The second chakra, about mid-belly,

The third chakra, about 2 inches up from the belly button;

The heart chakra, in the center of the chest;

the throat chakra,

The third eye chakra, up from between the eyebrows about an inch;

and the crown chakra at the top of the head.

These look like spinning wheels (chakra means wheel in Sanskrit). Each has its attendant color and function, which I will post tomorrow.
There are also chakras in the palms of the hands and the mid-point of the bottom of the feet.

The aura is the energy field created by the chakras, and by the intention of the individual. I call it the field since "aura" sounds really flaky, even to me!


Jack said...

Thank you for posting this article. You were my first internet stop after reading Michael Crichton's book "Travels". Before reading his book, I would have seriously poo-pooed any talk of energy balancing / healing, now I am not so sure and will look into it. Any recommended reading? I don't log into Google often, but my e-mail is drjohnmin@hotmail.com.

Arienrod said...

I really liked learning that "chakra" meant "wheel." Who knew? I enjoy the picture of these little wheels whirling around and inside me. Also grateful to know that my field is made up of the energy put out by the chakra. It helps to know that all these things are connected.